Call For a Free Consultation (609) 448-2700 | (732) 255-2244 | (609) 584-2275 Serving All of New Jersey!

Points And Surcharges For NJ Traffic Laws

//Points And Surcharges For NJ Traffic Laws
Points And Surcharges For NJ Traffic Laws2018-07-26T09:06:48+00:00

Points and Surcharges for Traffic Offenses in New Jersey

NJSA POINT SCALE
New Jersey Turnpike, Garden State Parkway and Atlantic City Expressway
NJSA SectionOffensePoints
27:23-29Moving against traffic2
27:23-29Improper passing4
27:23-29Unlawful use of median strip2
All roads and highways
NJSA SectionOffensePoints
39:3-20Operating constructor vehicle in excess of 45 mph3
39:4-14.3Operating motorized bicycle on a restricted highway2
39:4-14.3dMore than one person on a motorized bicycle2
39:4-35Failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk2
39:4-36Failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk;
passing a vehicle yielding to pedestrian in crosswalk
2
39:4- 41Driving through safety zone2
39:4-52Racing on highway5
39:4-55Improper action or omission on grades and curves2
39:4-57Failure to observe direction of officer2
39:4-66Failure to stop vehicle before crossing sidewalk2
39:4-66.1Failure to yield to pedestrians or vehicles while
entering or leaving highway
2
39:4-66.2Driving on public or private property to avoid a traffic sign or signal2
39:4-71Operating a motor vehicle on a sidewalk2
39:4-80Failure to obey direction of officer2
39:4-81Failure to observe traffic signals2
39:4-82Failure to keep right2
39:4-82.1Improper operating of vehicle on divided highway or divider2
39:4-83Failure to keep right at intersection2
39:4-84Failure to pass to right of vehicle proceeding in opposite direction5
39:4-85Improper passing on right or off roadway4
39:4-85.1Wrong way on a one-way street2
39:4-86Improper passing in no passing zone4
39:4-87Failure to yield to overtaking vehicle2
39:4-88Failure to observe traffic lanes2
39:4-89Tailgating5
39:4-90Failure to yield at intersection2
39:4-90.1Failure to use proper entrances to limited access highways2
39:4-91-92Failure to yield to emergency vehicles2
39:4-96Reckless driving5
39:4-97Careless driving2
39:4-97aDestruction of agricultural or recreational property2
39:4-97.1Slow speed blocking traffic2
39:4-97.2Driving in an unsafe manner (points only assessed for the
third or subsequent violation(s) within a five-year period.)
4
39:4-98Exceeding maximum speed 1-14 mph over limit2
39:4-99Exceeding maximum speed 15-29 mph over limit
Exceeding maximum speed 30 mph or more over limit
4
5
39:4-105Failure to stop for traffic light2
39:4-115Improper turn at traffic light3
39:4-119Failure to stop at flashing red signal2
39:4-122Failure to stop for police whistle2
39:4-123Improper right or left turn3
39:4-124Improper turn from approved turning course3
39:4-125Improper U-turn3
39:4-126Failure to give proper signal2
39:4-127Improper backing or turning in street2
39:4-127.1Improper crossing of railroad grade crossing2
39:4-127.2Improper crossing of bridge2
39:4-128Improper crossing of railroad grade crossing by certain vehicles2
39:4-128.1Improper passing of school bus5
39:4-128.4Improper passing of frozen dessert truck4
39:4-129Leaving the scene of an accident – No personal injury
Personal injury
2
8
39:4-144Failure to observe stop or yield signs2
39:5C-1Racing on highway5
39:5D-4Moving violation out of state2

Reproduced below is a list of points assessed by the Division of Motor Vehicles for motor vehicle offenses in New Jersey. Also, reproduced, is a schedule of surcharges which applies to offenses in New Jersey. Although we try to keep the list current, a current list can be found at the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission’s web site at: http://www.nj.gov/mvc/

Surcharges

If you are assigned points on your Driver License, you will have to pay point surcharges (see below) in addition to any court-imposed fines and penalties.

  • Surcharges remain operational as long as a motorist has six or more points on record resulting from violations posted in the preceding three years.
  • The point total is based on the date the violations are posted to your record, not the date when the violations occurred.
  • If the surcharge is not paid, MVC will suspend all driving privileges indefinitely and take judgment action filed in the state Superior Court, which may include securing a lien against any real property that you own, a garnishment of your wages, or other similar actions.

Point surcharges:

  • $150 for six points, and (effective July 1, 2004)
  • $25 for each additional point

Additional surcharges:

  • $100 for driving while unlicensed
  • $250 for driving while suspended
  • $100 for failing to insure a MOPED
  • $250 for operating an uninsured vehicle
  • $250 for pleading guilty to unsafe driving (court-imposed surcharge)
  • $1000 a year for three years for driving while intoxicated or refusing to take the breathalizer (first and second offenses).
  • $1000 a year for three years for driving while intoxicated or refusing to take the breathalizer (third offense).